Pickup and Throw Script Unity

Started by
9 comments, last by xexuxjy 7 years, 4 months ago

I am relatively new to game development and am having a huge problem in my game scripts. I was following this tutorial, ->

, on how to pickup and drop objects.

I've gotten it to work fine for that purpose but I have been trying to add functionality for throwing and seem to have hit a wall (pun intended). It's a literal wall in fact, since every time I throw the object it goes in the same direction no matter which direction I am facing.

I have tried numerous other tutorials to no avail. Either they are outdated or not relevant or broken in some way that I cannot fathom.

I have also tried writing my own from scratch with multiple different ideas on how to accomplish the task , also to no avail.

Nothing I do seems to work and somewhere along the line I did something that broke my game completely. SO much so that even removing every script in the scene still rendered it unplayable....So now I am remaking it and am scared to death of the idea I might break the engine again.

Here are the things that I have tried so far:

Locking the rotation on pickup

Setting a new rotation on throw

setting the rotation to (0,0,0) then throwing

and numerous other slight tweaks to get it to go the direction it is facing

Unfortunately I am a giant noob and can't get anything I try to actually do what I want it to even though I thought I had a pretty good grasp on what I had to do....

Also the object rotates freely in my "hand" and moves when it bumps other objects but this still does not affect it's throw direction. I would love to be able to sort this problem at the same time.

Here is my code from the tutorial, made to work in Unity 5