Moving particles that form a cloth in OpenGL..?

Started by
2 comments, last by cgrant 3 years, 8 months ago

I am a bit stuck. I am trying to follow the following tutorial: https://viscomp.alexandra.dk/?p=147

The biggest difference is how I am using Opengl 3.0 and beyond, whereas the tutorial uses begin and end. Now, I never actually learned begin and end because I am new to OpenGL, but I was hopefully that my method of doing it was sufficient to see something happening.

I want to verify the deal with the array (or in my case vector) which contains the positions/textures/colours and so on. What I decided to do is to update that vector with the current position I think the particle will be at. If I output that vector with the simulation running, I can see that my values for the position are different, inside of that vector every frame, yet my actual simulation is completely still, as if nothing was happening.

Am I correct in thinking that I can simply alter the values inside my ‘vertices array’, which should then alter where it is showing on the simulation?

Advertisement

Can you post the code on GitHub?

I know a bit about OpenGL 4.x

If you know how to add vertex data to a vector, and use something like glDrawArrays, then the glBegin/glEnd code should be trivial to understand. The only difference is that you set the data using glVertex3f/glColor3f/glNormal3f, rather than glBufferData.