Skills for AI Programmer

Started by
4 comments, last by Tom Sloper 2 years, 1 month ago

I am currently a student in college and I am looking for advice in career advancement. What skills and abilities are important in being an AI Programmer, and how can I develop my skills in this area?

Advertisement

A typical job listing would probably require a CSE or equivalent degree and proficiency the language of choice, which will vary across studios. C++ is pretty common in game development, so if you have to learn one programming language for game development, I'd say go with C++.

Generally, programming anything in games means you'll be working with vectors and matrices a lot, so knowing how to apply what's called linear algebra is an important skill. Engines usually have implementations of the common operations built into them, but they use the kind of terms you're likely to find in an undergraduate linear algebra textbook - dot product, cross product, and so on. What textbooks sometimes miss out (or underemphasise) is the geometric interpretation of these operations. I think the ‘Essence of Linear Algebra’ series on YouTube is a good primer on geometric interpretations of results. The other mathematical skill you will need is modelling the problem and devising a (generally algorithmic, in case of AI) solution.