Collision detection with multiple objects

Started by
9 comments, last by Gnollrunner 10 months, 2 weeks ago

Hello, i've been developing my own physics engine for a couple months, and recently i have came across this issue with collision resolution.

the following image represents the problem:

As you can see, since the collisions are solved individually, the sphere get stuck on this ping pong of collisions, one possible solution would be to repeat the algorithm multiple times until the sphere is pushed out of both shapes, but i can't use that solution because it would ruin the performance of the engine, i feel like the solution would be to consider all the colliding planes at once and find the spot where the sphere could fit between the planes, as shown in the next image:

My real question here is, how can i find that plane (the one shown in red) between the contact planes which represent the smallest possible space that sphere can fit between the two planes based on the planes normal orientations and positions?

Advertisement

At the point of contact between the sphere and the plane, a 90 degrees orthogonal plane will go through the sphere center. If you do that for both contact points you get a symmetric (stretched rectangular) shape that is symmetric at both side above and below the plane through the circle center and the common point of the original planes. So take ½ of that rectangular shape and you have a triangle, with known length of the sphere radius side and the ½ the angle between the original planes. From that you can easily compute the length of the triangle side from the common point of the original planes to the contact point.

EDIT: Alternatively you may want to compute the length of the side between the sphere center and the common point of the original planes, as that's the distance that the sphere center must obey wrt the common point of the original plances.