Finding my creative niche.....

Started by
11 comments, last by Tom Sloper 7 years, 3 months ago

So I posted in the beginners section, but found myself more drawn to the actual creative side of Game Design. With that said, I am seeking advice on how to advance to my ultimate goal of creating the experiences and bringing the stories I dream of into reality. I will break this post into sections to help ease readability. My mind does tend to wander into different areas rather swiftly, so I apologize if some ideas expressed are irrelevant.

1. Background: Simply put, I have very little background in game design. My degree is in Sociology, a subject I love due to the fact it lets me see how the world influences the development of the people that inhabit it, from the culture to the technology. I actually feel that this degree helps me in my pursuit as I can begin to think about how the game affects the player more easily. Aside from that, I was raised with little to no outlet to express my creativity. I have learned to create small things like gifs, or even write guides on steam (i.e http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=224840550 ), and even making a few youtube videos of me gaming. I actually like sharing my ideas and views, but usually don't, mostly of fear of rejection. I have dabbled on CGCookie before as well, and seek to return to it later as I want to make some pixel art, sprites, and explore 3d modeling via Blender as well. I am trying to self-teach myself at the moment, as I have no formal education in the area. I have pretty much given up on intensive programming languages like C++ or Java, as I like basic math skill and find it extremely difficult to learn it now (I have tried to take math college courses recently, did not end well). I am currently reading the book "The Art of Game Design: A book of Lenses" as well, downing about two chapters a day.