Making a Fighting Game State Machine

Started by
8 comments, last by Harmones81 4 years, 9 months ago

I'm a young developer who wants to make my very own 2.5d fighting game like SFV (not on the same scale of course). As of now, I've had a good 3 months of programming experience, especially on Unity, but I won't say that I'm an advanced or even intermediate level programmer yet. However, I really want to make this dream game, or at least do a good job trying, but I have somethings on my mind that are causing me some roadblocks.

I play a lot of fighting games (I'm alright but not the best) as a form of research and also looked up some aspects of game development/design that apply to fighting games, and one of the main components are state machines or FSM's. However, I don't know how to go about writing an FSM and I don't want to use Unity's Mecanim controller as I've seen that it doesn't really work well for more complex fighting games. To pretty much sum it up, All I want is some advice on how to go about making a state machine primarily for fighting games.

Advertisement

You basically have two parts, the design time code and the runtime code. Design time means anything you need to setupt your FSM properly, what states exist, what are the results of each state and so on. There you have a couple of possible options, write it into a file and parse it on startup, use ScriptableObject and create the database in Unity or use som kind of node based graph to visually click that together.

53689100-3821e680-3d4e-11e9-8440-e68bd80(On GitHub)

And finally the runtime code, when all nodes are connected to each other. You have to grab the first or active node from your FSM and evaluate it, if it evaluates to any of it's connected conditions, change the state, perform the action behind and store the node behind the condition as new active node in the FSM. On next update continue, it is just that simple.

Or use a ready solution also from GitHub