Help with my Life Sim game? Tips/ideas/thoughts

Started by
4 comments, last by Rutin 4 years, 2 months ago

I'm very new to everything gaming and I've only ever used the RPG makers for my games so I needed a bit of help. I want to make a game that plays mostly like a real-time life sim like Animal Crossing mixed with a bit of the anime Chobits. The idea is you inherit an android that was an old mans life work and slowly bond with it and teach it to feel while going about your life. You would have character creation for you and the android with plenty of customization options and clothing you could buy later. Also, the AI would have to be decent so that you could really bond with them as the player. The game would run off of real time, fishing and crafting would be available, there would be some fighting and levels, story and events, as well as interior design and furniture options. You would start with a small garden and sell flowers then eventually upgrade to have a small backyard farm, also odd jobs would be an option to make money. Any tips or engine that would be easy to use?

BASIC INFO---Imagine getting home from work after a long day and booting up your game. You're greeted as you load your save by your Android companion who has missed you since you last played. It's late after work in the real world so in the game it's also night, beautiful fireflies flutter about and the streetlamps in your town are lit. The two of you make your way to the moonlit beach for the first time which unlocks a special scene and Heart Points for the android. After the scene you run over to the dock and decide to fish for a bit hoping to sell the haul at the store tomorrow morning when it opens. Perhaps before you log out today you'll check on your garden you've been building up or see if the Dojo is still open to earn some exp? Or perhaps you'll simply spare with your android earning less exp but bonding with some Heart Points?