How to build the right design team?

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 2 years, 11 months ago

Hi guys.

I'm a programmer with lots of years of experience in the game industry. Since I've been working with designers during most of my career I thought that I knew a lot about game design but, as it turns out, I don't.

I started coding my own game a few years back with the sole purpose of keep learning and having fun while doing it, but I've reached a point where I think I could turn this game into a real product, so finding people who know their way around game design has become a priority for me. The problem is that I don't know where to start, and I don't feel comfortable sharing what I'm up to with my colleagues just yet.

All I have is a theme, a well defined setting and a core mechanic. The game content is procedurally generated (to a certain degree), while combat and exploration are two fundamental pillars of the gameplay.

If I wanted to build a design team (even if it's just a single person), what kind of designer should I try to get first? what other specialized design areas should I have covered? To what degree is it important that they love the game/genre?

I also got contacted by a writer who would love to work in the project but, do I need him yet? how do writers work with e.g gameplay designers? who feeds who?

Well, that's a lot of questions, but I'm genuinely lost.

Thanks in advance for your time ?

Advertisement

Hi, trapazza. I've moved your post to the Production/Management forum because you aren't asking how to design - you're asking how to manage team formation. And that is not a game design question.

So you have lots of years experience working in games, as a programmer. You must still know some game designers from that time. But you say you're not comfortable talking about your project with them - no wonder you're stymied.

To recruit people you need to talk to people. But that is much more difficult now because of the pandemic.