RWStructuredBuffer in hlsl/DX12 - difficulties with atomic adding - can't reset counter.

Started by
1 comment, last by MJP 3 years, 8 months ago

Hi everyone,

I am trying to implement Photon Mapping in DXR using DX12 - I am fairly new to DX12 (about 6 months experience), so am having a bit of difficulty with dynamically adding elements to a RWStructuredBuffer. For this I am storing ‘photons’ in a RWStructuredBuffer<Photon> on the GPU. I have an attached counter to the buffer, and deposit photons into it via calling IncrementCounter. This works, and my photons are happily stored. I then call an instanced draw for all photons and rasterise their splatting radius on the screen. Theoretically, I should be able to decrement the counter within the vertex shader for this draw, and have it return to 0. However, even when I do this, the counter does not reset to 0. This means that when I move the light source per frame, the photon buffer doesn't update as it's already full from the initial frame, meaning no dynamic GI. Any help on what I'm doing wrong would be awesome. I have attached my resource setup, as well as my storing code below.:)

//create the counting buffer for the photons
void Application::CreateCountBuffer() {
    auto device = m_deviceResources->GetD3DDevice();

UINT size = 4;
    D3D12_RESOURCE_DESC desc = {};
    desc.Alignment = 0;
    desc.DepthOrArraySize = 1;
    desc.Dimension = D3D12_RESOURCE_DIMENSION_BUFFER;
    desc.Flags = D3D12_RESOURCE_FLAG_ALLOW_UNORDERED_ACCESS;
    desc.Format = DXGI_FORMAT_UNKNOWN;
    desc.Height = 1;
    desc.Layout = D3D12_TEXTURE_LAYOUT_ROW_MAJOR;
    desc.MipLevels = 1;
    desc.SampleDesc.Count = 1;
    desc.SampleDesc.Quality = 0;
    desc.Width = (UINT64)size;
    auto heapProps = CD3DX12_HEAP_PROPERTIES(D3D12_HEAP_TYPE_DEFAULT);

ThrowIfFailed(device->CreateCommittedResource(&amp;heapProps, D3D12_HEAP_FLAG_NONE, &amp;desc, 	D3D12_RESOURCE_STATE_UNORDERED_ACCESS, nullptr, IID_PPV_ARGS(&amp;photonCountBuffer)));