Unity - Bolt vs Regular Coding

Started by
2 comments, last by Shaarigan 3 years, 6 months ago

Hey there, I'm pretty fresh to game development (I've worked on non-programming aspects of some small games in my first year of university) and wanted to get some opinions about what the best approach for making a game in 2D Unity, between Bolt (Unity's visual scripting tool) and writing C#, especially for a programming beginner like myself. I do like the idea of visual scripting rather than dealing with a bunch of lines, but I'd like to get some opinions for those who know about both.

What I'd mainly like to know is the limitations of either approach, and which one would ultimately be more worth it to go with, as well as any general thoughts or tidbits.

(At this stage I don't know C#, but I have some learning experience for Python)

Thanks bunches.

None

Advertisement

Murkle (Michael Elstone) said:
I do like the idea of visual scripting rather than dealing with a bunch of lines, but I'd like to get some opinions for those who know about both.

In my personal opinion, visual scripting is awesome, but bolt is not. We used bolt for a while at work, and it pretty much does so much wrong in terms of what makes a visual scripting language great so use, that we decided to drop it again in favour of plain programming. There's a lot to say about that, but I'll just give you a few examples:
Almost all “pins” for values in bolt are of type “object”, meaning you don't get any meaningful suggestions of what other nodes to connect there, so its really like programming in a weakly-types language.
When creating a node, luqid had that great idea of implementing a fuzzy-finding which in practice is just plain stupid (if you type “transform”, it will find TryAndSetF… just because it contains the letters of transform in the right order).