Game Development Version Control: How to handle lots of gigabyte game assets?

Started by
23 comments, last by darthdeus 3 years, 4 months ago

I'm mainly a full stack web developer and never had problems with big (in size) repository projects, so I could just push everything on GitHub without any problems.

Now I decided to make some games and I was wondering how should I manage my repository. Well probably the idea is to add the game assets directory into the .gitignore file, but how do I share the rest of the project with the other developers? How are we going to stay in synch with game asset changes?

void life()
{
  while (!succeed())
    try_again();

die_happily();
}

Advertisement

babaliaris said:
so I could just push everything on GitHub without any problems.

just wondering… have u found a problem doing the same thing for your game project ?

babaliaris said:
How are we going to stay in synch with game asset changes?

really wondering…how did u stay in synch with your web project ?

ddlox said:

babaliaris said:
How are we going to stay in synch with game asset changes?

GitHub says:

In addition, we place a strict limit of files exceeding 100 MB in size.

void life()
{
  while (!succeed())
    try_again();

die_happily();
}

https://docs.github.com/en/free-pro-team@latest/github/managing-large-files/about-git-large-file-storage

GitHub and Git in general is designed for text. Text deltas, text compression, and so on.

A distributed version control where everyone gets a copy of everything in history works well as the typical text is a few megabytes compressed.

Large Git repositories reach many megabytes. It's rare but sometimes big systems hit a gigabyte, needing manual approval and tripping safety precautions. Clones take ages.

This model is horrible for games.

Games are almost all data. The entire code base can be smaller than a single image. The entire code history of a AAA game is likely smaller than the source of the game's startup movie clips.