game design question

Started by
8 comments, last by NamespaceV 3 years, 2 months ago

Hello!

I have no idea on how to make games. My hobby is just drawing and I know some programming due to my job. Recently due to corona I start working from home and I have a lot of time to spent so I started drawing digitally. I always loved playing 2d and after playing hollow knight (and katana zero) I thought to my self “it should be fun making such a game”. Since I have a job I am not into “quitting my job to be an indie game maker” but I understand that working on a game can help my art, programming, organization etc skills.

Now lets start the question. I have the BEST IDEA EVER for a game (:P). A amoeba like creature that starts as an amoeba and can eat its way to the top of the evolution! So a metroidvania game where the character eats the enemies and gains their powers to be able to eat more difficult enemies.

Can you give me a direction with the implementation? (look below)

a few problems with this: 1) the “eat them” ability it self is too op (why not use only this ability?). 2) after 10 enemies you will have a huge amount of abilities so it is boring and unbalanced. 3) no idea where to focus (exploration, combat, puzzles) and how

Thank you all and sorry for the long post (no potato unfortunately)

Advertisement

@seasonas Your idea sounds very interesting! Some thoughts on point #2:

1. Make it so you need to be at a certain level to use a certain power. I.e., just because you killed a level 5 lifeform doesn't mean you can immediately use their skills.
  2. You can only use 3 skills at a time. Perhaps you'll need to try different combinations of three skills that allow you to kill a tough enemy.
  3. Have the skills you obtain interact synergistically.. Maybe if you acquire a stinger appendage AND the ability to make poison, you're far more dangerous. Part of the game could be discovering these combos..