Avoiding pitfalls when implementing a partially-undefined areas of the design document

Started by
8 comments, last by SuperVGA 2 years, 9 months ago

Hi Everyone,

This is an issue within the development area, but not specific to programming (bordering on Production and management), so the Lounge channel might be the best fit.

I'm a game development hobbyist. I have a design document. It's short and concise.
I have a tendency to go all-in on details and fluff/sugar in my code, because I have a (wrong) notion that this equals code quality and easily lose myself in details.

For example; I had implemented some nice, but basic graph classes. Lots of good tests and playing around to make sure they worked fine.
Still I thought it would be nice if curved edges were supported, and I then spent half a year implementing a grid traversal of circle arcs, just to support indexing this new edge type in a grid.
I realise now that, when I have to apply them, that even if I get them in, this means having to tinker with arc special cases for stuff coming up next: More time spent working on something that won't contribute to the fun of the game.

Now that I think of it, I did actually write some thorough design docs on networking and terrain fetching+rendering, but that was mostly after implementing them, so until that point, it was a code-it free-for-all only limited by my own imagination.

Do you (hobbyist) guys do thorough implementation documents, feature breakdowns etc? I suppose it is actually very good to have for a large project, but I always thought of it as a lot of overhead - not getting down to business and instead writing about stuff that's inevitably going to change.
How do you manage your time and hold a steady course, to not spend months working on stuff that isn't at the very core (I guess it should be, until the first prototype is ready)

-Svga

Advertisement