Procedural Generation Discussion

Started by
12 comments, last by Warp9 1 year, 9 months ago

I made a video covering my progress writing a building generator, I'm curious if people have any proc gen insight. this is my first attempt beyond using marching squares to generate caves when I first started my project. Does anyone have some procedural generation they'd like to share? Some favorite algorithms for good results? I'm trying to work on believably populating the rooms decorations but now I feel like I'm writing overly complex sets of rules for each individual type of furniture and it has me wondering if there's a better way.

Advertisement

Procedural generation is an interesting topic.

At about the 0:19 point in your video, you mention that the first part of making a town is to make some buildings---I can definitely see the argument for that perspective. However, I'd argue that the first part of making a town is to figure out why it would be there, and how long it has been there. . .

For example, is it there because it is a mining town? Or, was it founded because of its proximity to nearby rivers or roads? Was it recently founded, and all the building styles from the same period, or has it been around for centuries/millennia ?

Particular buildings also are likely to belong in certain places, or regions, of the town. The areas where the wealthy merchants live are likely to be different than the poor areas of town.

Same thing applies to other procedural generation techniques. . . For example, with natural terrain it is also important to understand why things are arranged in specific ways. Of course, you could put mountains in your world randomly, but generally mountains go in ranges. There are reasons why mountains form in some areas, and not in others. There are reasons why deserts appear in specific places, There are reasons why jungles appear in specific places.