What makes up a well designed game?

Started by
16 comments, last by rampeer 1 year, 3 months ago

I'm a beginner game designer and I'm wondering how I could improve

None

Advertisement

“How can I improve at game design” (the body of your post) is a very different question from “what constitutes a well-designed game” (the title of your post).

BOTH of those questions are extremely vague and broad-ranging. TOO vague and broad-ranging.

The best I can answer is, start at the beginning. Read books. Play games and analyze their design. Learn how to ask questions the right way.

What books on game design have you read? What games have you admired for their game design? What have you designed?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

@Tom Sloper

Tom Sloper said:
BOTH of those questions are extremely vague and broad-ranging. TOO vague and broad-ranging.

Sorry about that, I was hoping to get some broad answers that would serve as pointers

Tom Sloper said:
What books on game design have you read?

You replied to one of my previous posts and I got that “The art of game design: A book of lenses” book (Been super helpful, thanks for the recommendation). That is the only book I've read so far and I've read about 150 pages of it

Tom Sloper said:
What games have you admired for their game design?

I'd say halo reach and halo wars 1 were designed really well, I really enjoyed playing them a lot. I've got some other games I'd put in that list but ill keep it short

Tom Sloper said:
What have you designed?

So far I've made one decently sized game(By that, I mean there is more than a few minutes of gameplay), besides that I've made a few really small games and I'm starting on my second decently sized game.

None

This book has the detailed and most compelling answer to your broad reaching question:

https://www.amazon.com.au/Art-Game-Design-book-lenses/dp/0123694965

The Art of Game Design: A book of lenses