🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Object isn't drawing as vector graphics (Flash/Actionscript 3)

Started by
-1 comments, last by Cornstalks 15 years ago
I'm kinda new to this whole Flash/Actionscript 3 scene. I'm remaking one of my games in Flash so that people can play it on my website/blog (which doesn't exist :P). Anyway, I've got this shape I need to draw (the anaconda's head), and it's going to rotate so that it's always pointing towards the user's mouse. I created a Shape called head that I planned to simply rotate so that it would face user's mouse, but when I rotate it, Flash decides to rasterize it and cache it as a bitmap. If I don't rotate it, it draws as a vector image, but if I ever assign to the rotation member (even if it's just 0), it gets converted to a bitmap image. The code
package  
{
    import flash.display.Sprite;
    import flash.display.Shape;
    import flash.events.Event;

public class Anaconda extends Sprite
    {
        private var head:Shape = new Shape();

public function Anaconda() 
        {
            head.y = 30;
            //head.rotationZ = 0;
            head.graphics.lineStyle(1, 0xffffff);
            head.graphics.moveTo( 0,  -7);
            head.graphics.lineTo( 8, -10);
            head.graphics.lineTo(18,  -6);
            head.graphics.lineTo(20,  -4);
            head.graphics.lineTo(20,   4);
            head.graphics.lineTo(18,   6);
            head.graphics.lineTo( 8,  10);
            head.graphics.lineTo( 0,   7);
            head.cacheAsBitmap = false;

// I've added this part just for a visual reference
            this.graphics.lineStyle(1, 0xffffff);
            this.graphics.moveTo( 0,  -7);
            this.graphics.lineTo( 8, -10);
            this.graphics.lineTo(18,  -6);
            this.graphics.lineTo(20,  -4);