Text-Based RPG

Started by
7 comments, last by Rutin 5 years, 11 months ago

Hi, guys. I want to make an RPG text-based/interactive fiction game and I'm not that knowledgeable about this since I'm fairly new to making games. I haven't seen any thing like it yet either, so I wondered if making such a game is even possible. I've tinkered a bit with RPG Maker MV, but honestly I don't even know what engine I'm going to use. I already have a concept for my game, but I just need some advice on the matter.

Hope for your help. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks! :)

Advertisement
30 minutes ago, Mae Garcia said:

I want to make an RPG text-based/interactive fiction game... I haven't seen any thing like it yet either

Then googling it will provide you with lots of examples.

Visual novels is the evolved form of Text based games so searching "RPG Visual novels" will also provide good ones. WARNING! Most of the RPG Visual novel scene is covered by adult games, there is lots of reasons for this but mostly because a normal RPG Visual novel will go unnoticed by the mainstream of players.

Since Zork there has been many attempts at RPG text adventures and a lot of indie developers start with these as they are the easiest to make.

So what is it you are trying to make, a old school text adventure:

zork_i.jpg

Or a more modern RPG visual novel:

6289845260_a9b536d238.jpg

The engine to use will depend on focus, how much of a RPG vs how much of a Text/Visual novel etc.

So what is it you are looking to do?

1 hour ago, Mae Garcia said:

Hi, guys. I want to make an RPG text-based/interactive fiction game and I'm not that knowledgeable about this since I'm fairly new to making games. I haven't seen any thing like it yet either, so I wondered if making such a game is even possible. I've tinkered a bit with RPG Maker MV, but honestly I don't even know what engine I'm going to use. I already have a concept for my game, but I just need some advice on the matter.