Where should I start with creating my 2D platformer?

Started by
0 comments, last by Cestarian 4 years, 4 months ago

I want to create a little proof of concept/prototype/demo game before I move on to making a complete project. A platformer with just one level.

It just so happens that I am also an artist, I intend to do all the coding and artwork for this game I am going to develop, I don't have any experience to talk about with animation (I'm planning to learn it, it's one of the reasons I decided to make a game in fact, 2 birds in one stone sort of thing) but I do have pretty rich experience in coding and scripting.

I looked around and found that the game engine that seems to align the best with my goals is Godot, so that is what I am going with.

However that's as far as I got in the development before confusion set in. Where do I even start?

Should I make a 3D platformer (like Oddworld New'n'Tasty or My Friend Pedro)

Should I make a 2D platformer but with 3D character models/Pseudo 2D (Like Ori and the Blind Forest)

Should I make a more traditional 2D platformer with frame by frame animated characters like hollow knight?

Or should I make a 2D platformer with sprite/vector animations (This is the most common type of animation for platformers I think, can't think of a specific game though, except every platformer ever created in adobe flash of course)