Steamwings story - Feedback please

Started by
3 comments, last by PuppeteerWorks 4 years, 3 months ago

Hi,

I'll tell you the story you heard a thousand times before. I always wanted to make games. Six years ago I started learning Unity and C# programming. Couple of friends with 3d design and drawing skills joined because they wanted to make games too (and I guess I manage to persuade them). We are all in our late 30's now so we have our jobs, family, and other responsibilities. Long story short, with no guidance, we learnt how to do things by tutorials, forums and all sort of sources. We did a playable test but then things started to cool down with the development. Things happened to all of us and my dream started to fade away after I realize I needed much more 3d/2d assets and my friends just had no time or interest.

So here I am. I guess I don't want to give up and need some feedback from you.

First I would like to share with you the plot for the game which is named Steamwings.

I wanted it to be a shmup with much more like Sine Mora in the looking but with RPG and leveling concepts. It is set in a steampunk world ruled by an harsh empire that won a war years ago. I know, nothing new as for the storytelling standards. But I wanted to tell this dark story my way and maybe it would be interesting for some gamers.

I want to share with you the preface I wrote and I would appreciate any comments or help you could give.

And please, forgive my english as I'm not an english native speaker and I used just google translate for the story. If someone have interest, I'll translate it better.

Thank you all.

Steam Wings

Chapter 1: Helmut