Start learning DirectX

Started by
9 comments, last by Geri 1 year, 6 months ago

Hello everyone! This is my first post and it is my very first step in graphics programming.

I've been working as C++ Developer for 2 years for different companies but none of them are related to videogames or graphics.

I always wanted to learn DirectX and try to create my own microgame and to understand how graphics works. I found a webpage but it is paid content and I don’t know if this webpage is useful for a person like me.

I have some questions that I would like to ask to the community.

- Do I need to learn WinApi at all? or just the fundamental to create a window.
- Is the webpage I mentioned before good to start with DirectX? Are there any other resource for free?
- Do you know any Youtube channel that is dedicated to teach DirectX from scratch?

/Moderator edit: Removed link to website, as this is a new account and triggers astroturfing red flags - frob.

Advertisement

@JMelter The page you mentioned doesn't seem bad at all!

JMelter said:
Do I need to learn WinApi at all? or just the fundamental to create a window.

If you are working with windows, learning winapi is always a good choice ?

But for games, the basics, creating a window and dealing with the message loop is generally enough.

JMelter said:
Is the webpage I mentioned before good to start with DirectX? Are there any other resource for free?

Try the official DirectX SDK! There are lots of samples, and the help is full with beginner tutorial (as I remember)