Characters ai code organization

Started by
10 comments, last by Neoshaman 1 year, 1 month ago

I'm not sure I need c++ code? I program in c# in unity, or javascript, I'm a game designer first lol I only dabble in code.

BUT I made some breakthrough doing that exercise:

I came to realize something, It's not a character behavior code, it's a SCENE behavior code. The equivalent would be, as kept telling but not realizing fully, branching dialog sequence, in other game, except of text you have whole actions and behaviors. Joint actions between character and options, are decided by gameplay events, during phases of the sequence. Obviously that was dangling every time I told about why it was different from character behavior, but I hadn't realize the implications yet.

It change the perspective on how to organize the code, it's a scope problem. Some data currently attributed to character, aren't for the character, but describe the SCENE states or transition from scene to another. That is SCENE contains character's behaviors, but aren't character behavior themselves, they direct character, and thus need specific encapsulation. That's why there was many characters within some branch of behavior, because it's misnamed and mis categorized.

Let's look at a mocked bath mis categorized "behavior", not using a joint character scene (no multiple character at the same time), assuming it's the yandere simulator game as a reference:

0. is triggered by being dirty events

1. go to communal bath

2. go to locker

3. change cloth to swimsuits

4. take the bath

6. go to locker

7. change back to normal cloth

8. exit the communal bath

This would constitute the basic behavior.

Context: