State management

Started by
2 comments, last by Togame 12 months ago

Hi, I am quite new to game development and have issues how to manage my games states.

I have a state A in my game where my player can do certain things while other actions happening in parallel. E.g. an animal sleeps, wakes up and plays around. So after the sleep animation is complete, the wake up animation is started, etc.

Now, if the state changes to B, all animals should run away. I can obviously not make a state for each combination like State-A_animal-1-sleeps_animal-2-wakes-up. My issue is, when I run chained animations (sleep, wake up, run around) I end up doing this in my update loop:

case state === State.A:
  await animal.sleep(5000);
  if (state === State.A) {
    await animal.wakeUp();
    if (state === State.A) {
      animal.runAround();
    }
  }
  break;
case state === State.B:
  animal.runAway();
  break;

So I check if the state is still A before each chained animation, because the state could have changed while the previous animation was running which leads to this spaghetti code.

I hope someone can help or point me in the right direction.

Advertisement

We have several articles and tutorials on the site about using state machines as you described, but which to recommend would depend on which problem you're encountering.

I notice a couple things.

Generally state transitions should be instantaneous, if you need to animate something then you need an additional state that represents the transition. You may need time for entry or exit animations, you may need time for walking or traveling, you may need time to idle while a partner moves into position, each of those are also full states that need their own logic, they're typically not instant transitions.