I have no idea how to use Unity and C#.

Started by
4 comments, last by frob 7 months ago

I've been trying to dip my feet into using Unity and C# for the sake of developing games, however, I have barely any knowledge of how to use the coding language or Unity, and stuff like programming camera controls ends up being too hard for me.

I want to learn how to program video games but I don't know how to. Does anyone have any advice on how to start out or recommend any good courses on how to learn Unity and C#?

Advertisement

@toaderman I would suggest learning one thing at a time. So begin with learning C#, you shouldn't be messing with Unity yet, and definitely not bother with camera controls. Find some basic C# game tutorials.

You can start from its Unity Learn here: https://learn.unity.com/

It's quite a step-by-step for a complete beginner.

xrbtrx said:

You can start from its Unity Learn here: https://learn.unity.com/

It's quite a step-by-step for a complete beginner.

I agree with @xrbtrx . I just started the trainings 2 weeks ago on the Unity learn website and it's been good so far. Don't let the programming aspect stump you. If you are going to use any Game Engine like Unity or Unreal, you need to learn how to use the application. Unity has good learning material, so just use the learn website and start your journey.

toaderman said:
Does anyone have any advice on how to start out or recommend any good courses on how to learn Unity and C#?

This depends on your goals.

If your goal is to just make something, then it doesn't really matter much, get whatever you want to dive in to your learning journey. Unity's website has a ton of tutorials aimed at beginners. It should be enough to help you make “something”. They won't teach you what you need to be a top-tier programmer, but they will teach you enough to make things as a beginner.

m_waddams said:
So begin with learning C#, you shouldn't be messing with Unity yet