Need some tips on making small top-down tiles more detailed.

Started by
8 comments, last by craig6673@outlook.com 5 months ago

I'm working on a top down tile based game. I am not an artist by any measure. I'm using Blender to create the assets. The example I'm showing here is a test of a pathway tile. Don't worry too much about texture/color, as this is just a test. The 256x256 image looks halfway decent. However, when I render it at the correct 64x64 pixel size, all definition is lost. One thing to keep in mind is that I'll be baking normal maps of the tiles, so some definition will come back through lighting, but what can I do to enhance the diffuse map?

Please understand that I'm not asking anyone to do this for me. I really like the challenge. I just need a push in the right direction. I'm using Godot 4, if it matters.

No, I am not a professional programmer. I'm just a hobbyist having fun...

Advertisement

You can use a sharpening downsampling filter to make the small tile look better, such as the “bicubic sharper” mode in photoshop. Other than that you could tweak the colors to be more contrasting.

Sharper
Yours

Not an artist at all (not even with blender :p ) but one thing that comes to mind is how the size of the tile compares with the size of other things in the game, eg the player character. I would say that it makes a difference whether the character can comfortably at a single tile, or that a path of say 5 tiles wide is needed.

As for your problem, can't you use different colors fir “high” parts or so? eg lighter shades of green, yellow and blue? That would make the height differences more clear. Games is about smoke and mirrors, use anu trick that looks convincing. You don't need to limit yourself to what we see around us in reality.

Aressera said:

You can use a sharpening downsampling filter to make the small tile look better, such as the “bicubic sharper” mode in photoshop. Other than that you could tweak the colors to be more contrasting.