I have questions about a career in programming, do you have the answers?

Started by
1 comment, last by DoubleDose 24 years, 6 months ago
1) I'm currently a self-employed independent software developer, but before March 1999 I worked for TV Guide, Inc., in Tulsa, Oklahoma, as a Senior Software Engineer. If you want to email me, I'll send you what I was making there.

2) I have a Bachelor of Science Degree in Computer Science. The important CS classes I remember are:
-Data Structures
-File Processing
-Database Concepts
-Operating System Concepts
-Systems Programming
-Programming Languages
-Compiler Construction
-Computer Logic & Organization

On the math side, there was:
Calculus I & II
Discrete Math
Linear Algebra
Differential Equations
Math Modelling

3) As an independent software developer, I design, develop, and market shareware products. Additionally, I am co-owner of Samu Games, a small independent online game development company. Finally, I a provide contract consulting and development services.

4) Managing sales and, to an extent, marketing, as well as customer service via email. Continuing development on several projects, which one I work on depends on the day of the week and, sometimes, the moon phase.

5) Being self-employed, my dress code is quite casual.

6) Long hours, the pay is merely adequate, and my boss is a real pain... ;-) However, my PC is pretty damn nice (if a year old) and I can play whatever music I want as loud as my wife in the other room will let me play it...

7) I chose computer programming because I wanted to create computer games. After college I discovered that I actually like designing and developing software that people use and enjoy using. Whether that software is a game or a management decision aid is not an issue any more.