Advertisement

Programming Lifestory Anyone?

Started by March 15, 2011 01:07 PM
7 comments, last by Bladelock 13 years, 6 months ago
Hi guys! I'm a really novice programmer. I always wanted to make a game w/ programming.

However, i need inspiration and some advice since i don't exactly have a formal mentor rearing me to the right path

so can anyone tell me their story on how they started programming as beginners to pros suddenly making games with awesome graphics and stuff?
what did you guys have to go through to gain such proficiency? where did you go for help? how did you ascend from being a novice coder?
and what advice can you give a beginner like me?

i just need some words of wisdom from the community. Thanks!

what did you guys have to go through to gain such proficiency?
Practice.

where did you go for help?[/quote]Books and magazines. There was no internet.

how did you ascend from being a novice coder?[/quote]Practice.

and what advice can you give a beginner like me?[/quote]Practice.
Advertisement
Pretty much what the person before me said :) Best way to learn is focus on one thing - be it C++, C# or any other language, gather up some tutorials on making games and start dabbling in the code. There is no shortcut to wisdom - you can't simulate or cheat experience.

One vital rule tho - don't quit. It might be hard, it might be boring, whatever - you chose that path for a reason, so stick to it. Unless it's a fancy that just came and went and you don't "feel it's right" for you. I've decided to quit on programming coz it didn't feel good for me - I like maths and I can do some basic C++, but that just wasn't me. I prefer to write, design, manage, think out all the details rather than carry them out - and it works for me well, I'm happy with it :)

GL with your journey, fingers crossed! :D