Student Looking for constructive feedback

Started by
2 comments, last by green.B3457 4 years, 1 month ago

Hello everyone,

I am a student working to become a Character Artist within the gaming industry at some point in the future. I'm still learning how to get better at 3D modelling, so any feedback would be greatly appreciated. ?

Link to my portfolio: https://www.makalagordon.com/

Head Model [WIP]

None

Advertisement

hmmm… i would not be very convinced. Some critique on the above image:

• Want's the dirt on the left side of the chin? Is it dirt, or a shading artifact? It's not clear if intended or mistake.
  • There are tears, but the face lacks expression. Is she sad or is it just default modeling pose with no expression intended but tears drawn over?
  • Use light coming from the side, not the exact front. It looks way too symmetric and unnatural as shown.
  • You lack detailed understanding of anatomy. The tendons on the neck are wrong, also the bones above breast. I know how hard this is… showing no such details at all is better than having them wrong.
  • It's not clear if the model should be ‘beautiful girl’ or ‘next door girl with potato nose’. I mean, it has a bit of both? This makes' me think: If i hire this guy, he might be unable to nail a certain given direction.

Looking at you Portfolio, adding some more critique on this (hand drawn cowboy girl in case image does not show up):

https://www.makalagordon.com/uploads/2/6/0/7/26073689/jayne.jpg

• The strokes are not that good - a bit wobbly, e.g. the stroke from chin to ear, or the lasso rope.