Whats a good way to set up a foundation and get a start?

Started by
6 comments, last by hagerprof 4 years, 1 month ago

So I'm just getting started in game developing and i wanted to know what a good place to start is. I'm kinda starting from scratch as I don't have any previous experience in programming or modeling or anything of the sort, though it seems like im picking up modeling fairly fast. What's a good way to learn more of the basic skills like programming, sound editing, and modeling? Im currently using Unreal Engine and Blender by the why.

Also where is a good place to start idea wise? I already have an idea of what i want to make but i feel like it'll be quite advanced and i don't know if I should start with a basic idea or try to start on a bigger scale project.

Any advice at all would be appreciated.

Advertisement

@kornknot

I'll get to your last question first because it is more important. Don't jump into a big project straight away, make sure your first project is small and has a small scope of ideas crammed into it. If you start on a big project, you might find that you don't (yet) have the skill or knowledge to complete certain parts of it, and could become demotivated and give up.

When starting with a small project, think of an idea for a small game with a limited set of features that will help you learn more about the certain aspects of game design and development you want to learn. For example, if you want to learn more about platformers, make a basic platformer, and in the process of making it, you will learn more about platformers and what makes them fun, how to make them better, etc.

I understand you might be itching to make your dream game, we all are, but you need to take a step back to make some smaller things to gain knowledge and to share your designs with the world before taking a big commitment on-board.