What is my art style missing?

Started by
5 comments, last by JoeJ 3 years, 3 months ago

I am wanting to improve the visual appeal of my game. I am primarily a programmer who needs to make the art for my game. I can tell my art needs improvement but I am having a hard time identifying what is missing. I want to keep a simple style with bright colors but it feels too simple and unfinished. What would make this better?

My current game project Platform RPG
Advertisement

Start with finding good reference from games that you like or want to be compared to. Then shift your focus towards that style; It's very difficult to ‘invent’ a style without practical background knowledge on what is aesthetically interesting/appealing.

27. He/Him. Blender+Grease Pencil Enthusiast. Commisions『Character Artist / Live2D』Closed. Designer. Producer. Animator. Rigger. Modeller. DMs Open/Sable#8026.

sableproduction.com (TM) Under construction. Built with Carrd.co. (Launch date: 1st Feb 2021)

i stream game development and play other developers games. Sometimes we have guest speakers, come watch over at twitch.tv/rizolchama.

First image: your characters are so bright that they look like they are glowing, so why are they casting shadows?

Second image: the strongest image of the bunch. The bright highlights on the sand in the shadows look odd. You have more contrast in the shadows than in the light, which is the opposite of what I would expect.

Third image: the weakest image of the bunch. A bunch of elements look like they should be glowing, but aren't casting any light on the scene. The dismembered hand looks creepy. I can't tell what the thing in the hand is supposed to be. I don't like the colors. The total lack of shadows makes the image look flat.

Fourth image: somewhat bland. A clear light source with shadows might help. There's a visible square around the circle on the floor that probably shouldn't be there.