Looking for feedback for my 2D character

Started by
12 comments, last by Thaumaturge 2 years, 8 months ago

Hi!

I'm trying to make a top-down shooter in the style of Enter The Gungeon or Nuclear Throne. My main character is a lab assistant who is forced into picking up guns to defend against the attackers who invade her workplace.

I have started with 4 simple animations:

Idle without weapon
Walking without weapon
Idle with weapon
Walking with weapon

I have never done pixel art before but I watched some tutorials and tried to apply it in my first work. Any feedback will be much appreciated!

Advertisement

Hmm… It's not really “my style”, so my critique is limited, but I do have a few thoughts:

First of all, it fundamentally looks fine, I think. The tone seems to me to be cartoony and light--if that's your intention, then well and good! ^_^

In terms of potential improvement, I feel like I want one more frame in the walk-cycle, primarily for the movement of the character's legs. At the moment, with only two frames, there's no real sense that the character's legs are moving, I find--it just feels like they're clicking back and forth. With a third frame (or, even better, a fourth), the motion of the legs might be better conveyed.

I also feel like the animation of the character's arm in the walk-cycle is perhaps a little jarring: in pretty much all other respects, the character's lines are rounded; they have an almost rubbery feel to them. It's thus a little jarring to suddenly see a sharp bend at the elbow.

I would suggest either sharpening the angles of the sprite elsewhere, or--perhaps better for the style otherwise being used--curving the character's arm in motion, rounding off that angle.

MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

My Twitter Account: @EbornIan

A good labcoat needs good pockets!

Although I admit that would be really hard to do at that resolution. I also wholeheartedly agree with more frames of animation. Animation is the stuff of life.