🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Connecting codes written by different people together.

Started by
19 comments, last by frob 2 years, 5 months ago

Hello.

I am new to game development and i barely understand any programming. I am going to hire a programmer, but i have to know about few details first.

I want to hire several programmers on freelance and let them do game separately from each other, to accelerate game developing process. So basically i will not order entire game from one programmer, instead i will break my game into pieces.

As several different programmers develop pieces of game and code on their own, can there be any problems with connecting them into one entire game?

Having separate pieces of codes will I be able to connect them together and make functional game?

Are there any rules i have to follow while ordering freelance work or should i give them some rules to follow for me to be able to connect their work together?

If you have any suggestions for me as beginner, you can share them.

Thank you in advance.

Advertisement

First, you must not put it all together yourself without having created the code yourself after all there is so much in programming a game that it would be almost impossible to have the entire thing created separately without all programmers knowing what the others are doing. Secondly, just have the programmers work on the same project, meaning that every programmer can see what the other programmers are doing at all times, use GitHub for that.

There really aren't any rules that you have to follow, but it is best to see what the programmer can and can't do, what they are willing to do, and what they are not willing to do, except for those you are the one that makes the rules.