🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I need some advice planning my first game

Started by
18 comments, last by GeneralJist 2 years, 3 months ago

Hello everyone,

I am a web developer, thinking to develop a game as a hobby, I'm not planning to sell it and I will have all the time it requires. Besides web programming, I can write software using Python, C/C++/C#.

This will be my first-ever game and I would like to have some advice to do not start taking wrong decisions.

My idea was to develop a city builder-like game using a 2D isometric view which will possibly have a change of the point of view system to simulate a rotation, I'd say 4, 1 for each corner. I've read a bit around and that graphic concept seems to be considered dead or so by many people, but for a total beginner and his hobby, it is probably fine and easier than a 3D game. I would also have an eye to the performance, in the late game there could be many entities (people) going around doing stuff.

If in the future I decide to change from 2D to 3D, would that be a problem involving deep and hard changes? Will the complexity be influenced a lot by the technology which I will use to develop the game?

Talking about the technology to use, my main concern is: a game engine or a framework?

I tried to follow (not just watch) some tutorials both with Unity and SFML, I must say that I did prefer the SFML way. About Unity, I didn't like the interface system, too many places to remember where things are and it also confused me a bit with ECS and DOTS. By the way, I'm not discarding Unity, if it worth it, I could use it. Do you think I should choose or try anything different? SDL2, which I only heard about, in example o other?

Do you have any other suggestions about important things I should consider before I start?

Advertisement