How essential Data Structure and OOPS are to Game Development?

Started by
11 comments, last by cozzie 1 year, 7 months ago

Hi all, I am new to Game Dev but have been coding in C,C++,C and Python, so I have knowledge about coding concepts, but haven't been coding for a year or more. I have been out of touch with Data Structures specifically, OOPS have been utilised heavily in Unity. How important is it to Game Dev and what all should you learn to get a job?

Advertisement

I think it's especially essential to games. I've heard arguments against things like OOP from people but the tech industry is all about OOP for the most part even when it's not game related.

In games, a lot of things are “Objects.” You need a base class for a character that all sub types derive from. You need a base class for guns. You need a base class for projectiles. Etc….

Outside of game development (And actually also in games) you have things like Windows, Buttons, Text, Network Connections, Lists, Maps.

We think of things as different types of objects and in hierarchies all the time, so coding that way is a great natural progression.

And when you're not strictly using OOP, you're using things like Composition, which in a way is OOP but without some of the built in language features.

So there's the usual OOP concepts like Inheritance, Polymorphism, and Encapsulation that you see in all the textbooks. There's composition which is a kind of way to get OOP without using OOP. There are the typical data structures like arrays/lists, maps, trees, etc… Knowing Big(O) of various algorithms is usually essential to passing interviews.

Then there's actually the real world outside of passing an interview. Unfortunately interviews are like a skill of their own you have to be good at that have almost nothing to do with being good at your job, but you have to be good at both to even get the job in the first place.