How do you add custom textures to objects? (Unreal Engine)

Started by
4 comments, last by splitriver 4 years, 2 months ago

I'm fairly new to using Unreal and have been trying to figure out how to add custom textures to objects. I've been trying to create a street just to start off with and so I created a simple model in blender and then imported that into Unreal. So now that I have an object to work on I have been trying to add a simple texture to my street (just a black rocky texture with some yellow dashed lines down the middle). However I have been using the Unreal Engine's material creator which is quite frustrating to use, so I was wondering if it was possible to import your own textures into Unreal instead of creating them from scratch within the engine? Does anyone know of any videos or sites that can help me out?

Advertisement

Second here. I decided to try Unreal and could not find a way to get a texture onto an object. Shouldn't it just be drag-and-drop from explorer/Finder into the main window? As a sidenote, compared to Xcode both Unity and Unreal run really hot on my Macbook Air (fan going crazy, keyboard too hot to touch). It's too bad I can't use them on the go even like that (nevermind on Android, on which I develop all the time; and this was my main complaint years ago.) I'm sticking with plain C++, but still would like to know for future professional reasons.

VoxycDev said:

As a sidenote, compared to Xcode both Unity and Unreal run really hot on my Macbook Air (fan going crazy, keyboard too hot to touch).

what kind of a comparison is that? XCode is a Textbased IDE, while Unreal and Unity are fully-fletched 3D editors. talking bout apples and oranges. of course a texteditor will consume less power than a 3d-editor that pretty much has to run the game All the time. thats like sayin „my car gets hotter than my bike, so I‘ll just hike work“.