New to Game Development

Started by
1 comment, last by sealiteral 3 years, 8 months ago

So I'm new to Game Development (and coding), and I was wondering, if there are any tutorials on how to make a 3D physics based engine? What language should I use? And is it possible to modify game engines such as CryEngine, Source, Unreal Engine, ect.

Advertisement

Everything is possible. Try to check YouTube first. There are a LOT of decent channels. PM if you are looking for something in particular.

None

Maxyyyyy said:
if there are any tutorials on how to make a 3D physics based engine

By physics based do you mean PBR (physics based rendering, as in calculating more or less realistically how light behaves in a scene) or do you mean game physics (gravity, collision detection, collision response…)? Or maybe you mean physics based animation, which include things like ragdoll physics. I could probably find tutorials of all those types, but since I'm using an existing engine rather than building one from scratch, I don't have a big need to research those topics on my own. And spending a lot of time on finding information that isn't very useful for myself isn't something I want to spend most of today doing.

Netaid said:
Try to check YouTube first

You could also use Google, in case you want tutorials that aren't video.

Maxyyyyy said:
What language should I use?

Do you mean which language to write stuff in for the players of your game to read? If so, you could use English or whatever you feel you're good at writing in. And if you mean programming languages, it depends on your skills but also on the task:

• For code that runs a few times per frame, you can use pretty much any language. Code in some languages, such as Python, might run slower than code in some other languages (like C++), but if the game doesn't need to move thousands of enemies on every frame, you can probably write the enemy AI in such a language without noticeably affecting the performance of the game.