OLE/COM Programming

Started by
7 comments, last by LordShade 18 years, 4 months ago
Hi guys, I am new to OLE/COM programming,I am learning how to build COM wrapper(ie. wordpad) to actually put into C++ application. I have been searching and searching but with no luck with any tutorials online that teaches good OLE/COM programming. I hope someone could give me some recommendation/advice on this topic. Thank you in advance. Hope to hear from you guys soon.:) TIA, Commy
Advertisement
MSDN is a good source. Also you can try a search on Google to see what you can come up with. There are a few sites that I use for reference with such things - Code Project.

Basically, with come you need to create a DLL for you class to reside in. Next, you will need to implement each function for any interface you derive from and also, the ones you create. All COM objects derive from IUnknown, so that’s three functions or methods as they are called that you will have to implement.

Next, you will not only need to write the implementations for you COM object(s), but also you will need to create an implementation for a class factory. The purpose of the class factory is to attach (or reference) an object to an interface.

You will also need to generate GUIDs for you interfaces and implementations (aka IID or CLSID). Or if you really want them in full, Interface Identifier and Class Identifier. Those IDs are passed to you class factory were YOU check to see if the one passed matches any of the ones YOUR COM objects implement. My explanations are less the adequate, so you should look up additional information on the topic.
Take back the internet with the most awsome browser around, FireFox
Hi Sakky,

Thanx for the quick reply. I really appreciate you reply. I did researched on Codeproject too,but came out lost and even confused in them.The basic understanding of the theory is there like what you mentioned. I will do more research again due to the problems.