HA! I finally finished a game. :P

Started by
9 comments, last by MrShaneParker 22 years, 10 months ago
Hey guys. I finished my first game! Of course it''s tetris. :D See a screen shot here: http://members.aol.com/AdrianoValentine/pic.jpg I''m not new to programming in C\C++... i''ve been doing that for a few years now. It''s funny, because the whole reason i started programming was to make video games, however i would never complete an actual game that i started. I guess i was always trying to accomplish things way out of my league. This time i thought i would start at the bottom like every one else, and of course i got much better results. :D I chose to use OpenGL for my game because it''s EASY and it''s AWESOME if you have a 3D acceleration card. (AND YOU SHOULD!) The game looks great in full-screen mode, especially if you have full-scene anti aliasing support like Voodoo5 cards do. (I think nVidia cards do now too...) I''m not really gonna bother uploading it, cause there''s already 50 bazillion other tetris clones on the net, and because mine isn''t anything special. I just wanted to kinda talk a bit about my first completion, and maybe even encourage some new coders out there to study hard and keep trying. It isn''t easy to make games, but if you work at it enough you''ll get something done. No matter how small and dorky my tetris clone is, i''m really glad i got something done. Now to determine what my next game will be... any suggestions? -Shane Parker
-Shane Parker
Advertisement
Well done mate. My first completed game was an ASCII Pacman game in QBASIC .

How about a Nibbles or Snake game?

Rottbott
hehehe...that''s nothing...my first game was a number guessing game (text only) in TI-BASIC!!!

That was on my Texas Instruments TI-994/a

-Coleco

~ c o l ec o ~

Rock the cradle of love!
You stupid WANKER!
S i g n a l D E V .com

--HASBRO SUCKS--
Rock the cradle of love! You stupid WANKER!
Very cool. I''m genuinely happy for you. Good luck on you next project!