Ecs Architecture Efficiency

Started by
17 comments, last by Shannon Barber 7 years, 9 months ago

I was wondering for all those C++ programmers out there, what kind of efficiency your getting from an ECS (Entity Component System) game architecture. I'm wondering about max cycles, how many entities and corresponding components you can create in your system before UPS and FPS drops below the standard 60.

This here.... is significantly different than....

Ok let me tackle this from a different perspective.... (No I'm not an experience programmer in C++; just learned it a couple months ago.... still learning)

Say I have multiple vectors of custom types like so:

class Base {
private:
    int id;
public:
    Base(int ID) : id(ID) {}
}

class A : public Base {
public:
    int x;
    A(int ID) : Base(ID) {}
}

class B : public Base {
public:
    int y;
    B(int ID) : Base(ID) {}
}

class Controller {
public:
    std::vector<std::shared_ptr<A>> AList;
    std::vector<std::shared_ptr<B>> BList;
}

Then I have a class that's going to iterate over the 2, because A has info B needs to operate:

class DoSomething {
private:
    std::shared_ptr<Controller> MasterController(new MasterController());

public:
    DoSomething() {
        for(int i = 0; i < 500; i++) {
            std::shared_ptr<A> newA(new A(i));
            MasterController->AList.emplace_back(std::move(newA));
        }
        for(int i = 0; i < 500; i++) {
            std::shared_ptr<B> newB(new B(i));
            MasterController->BList.emplace_back(std::move(newB));
        }
    }

void Running_DoSomething() {
        for(std::vector<std::shared_ptr<A>>::iterator itA = MasterController->AList.begin(); itA != MasterController->AList.end(); ++itA) {
            for(std::vector<std::shared_ptr<B>>::iterator itB = MasterController->BList.begin(); itB != MasterController->BList.end(); ++itB) {
                if((*itB)->id == (*itA)->id) {
                    ...Do Something >>>
                }
            }