Relocating to start my career

Started by
8 comments, last by Kylotan 5 years, 11 months ago

Hello, I am currently living in Asuncion, Paraguay and in the process of relocating to Europe (I'll be there in september, in Barcelona at first). I have a general programming (Python) remote job that allows me to move there right now, but I don't really want to waste any more time doing things I don't like. My true passion is programming games, and I have done many as a hobby. I do really want to start a career in game development and any advice here will be welcome.

I have many years of experience programming, am very active in the local (very small) gamedev community  and am making small games and contributing to projects since at least 2007.

What can you people advice me? Everything is welcome. Thanks.

Advertisement
22 minutes ago, ito123456789 said:

What can you people advice me?

What kind of questions do you have?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

1 minute ago, Tom Sloper said:

What kind of questions do you have?

How possible will it be to get a job there, seeing as I never really worked in gamedev professionally before? Where should I be looking? Where can I get in contact with the community (I'll be in Barcelona at first)? How should I? How do they see inmigrants there, etc. Anything really.

I'm already looking online, but still without success.

Europe is a diverse continent and not all countries are equal when it comes to game dev communities. I don't believe there are many AAA studios in Spain if that's what you are looking for, but indies shouldn't be too hard to find in any major city, if you are ok starting there.

There are game development conferences all over Europe, and I would suggest looking into it, and I always recommend volunteering to really connect with like minded individuals. Don't forget business cards and a portfolio.