Assets used for free game?

Started by
5 comments, last by Brain 5 years, 2 months ago

Hello everyone,

I am a Games Tech and Design student in my second year and I have made a game on the side for mobile. I want to publish the game in the Play Store for Android and I do not want to make money out of it. I just want to have a free game on the play store because I want to experience publishing games on platforms accessible to majority of people and enjoy what I have done. The problem is i do not know anything about copyright laws and legal stuff and I have used some assets from the internet where they have said the asset can only be used for personal use.

I want to know if I could get in trouble for using those stuff for a free game (no monetization). and if i have to refer the original creator, how would I do it? 
Sorry if it is a common and silly question but I have no idea whatsoever on the legal stuff. I looked it up on the internet and have found out that if the game does not make money i can publish it and some said that i could get into legal trouble if i am not careful about it. 

Thanks,

muttsang

Advertisement

It doesn't matter if the game is free or not, if you use something that you don't have permission to use you can get into trouble because of it.

It really depends on the license your assets came with.  Some licenses (such as CC0) allow you to do whatever you like.  Others (CC BY for example) might require you to give credit to the creator of the work you've used.  Others let you do what you want, but you have to give credit and share your own work under the same license (CC-BY-SA), or forbid commercial use (CC BY-NC) or all sorts of other stipulations.  All of the examples I used here are Creative Commons licenses.  There are many other types of licenses, I just picked these examples because they are easy to find and relatively easy to understand as examples.