Best gameplay mechanics/interface for text-based games?

Started by
3 comments, last by Tom Sloper 5 years ago

Hey, happy Friday! :)

I've been learning to use the cc65 compiler for 8-bit systems, and playing with simple text-based games in C.  This has been a lot of fun, and the end result is I games that run on modern systems like Linux and Windows, and also retro systems like the Commodore 64!  Eventually I want to learn 6502 Assembly and get to know the hardware of my favorite platforms inside-out and backwards, but you gotta start somewhere.  Baby steps (lol).  I even wrote a little library for that (I'll be open-sourcing it when it's finished - still buggy on Windows lol).  And I'm a writer so this project has been a lot of fun!

But now I'd like to take it to the next level.  One great thing about text-based games is they actually have 2 niches where they're still relatively popular: (1) retro gamers like me, and (2) people who are blind.  And since I'm just one guy and building games is not my full-time job, it just seems like the best fir for right now.  And apparently, people are still creating them; there are some examples on my blog.  But most of these are web-based, and some are extremely different from what you'd think of when you hear "text-based game".  So I'd like to build some really good-quality text adventures, maybe make a few bucks on Steam or give them away on my website and throw in a donate button (lol); the idea of making money's not a real concern, but I do think I could create some cool games and I'd like to get them out there.

But what makes text games fun?  Obviously there's not a whole lot of documentation on the subject, cuz even small studios (5-6 devs) can do better than just text.  And just because I may enjoy a game doesn't mean players will.  So here are a couple specific questions, that I'd just like to get your two cents on, if that's cool:

1. How much description?