How should I build my ground in Unreal Engine 4?

Started by
6 comments, last by Enzio599 4 years, 3 months ago

I'm making a small map for me to mess around with and learn the basics of Unreal Engine 4. I know how to make models and how to texture them, import them, export them etc, but I am confused as to how I should make my floors or the ground for my virtual world?

Should I either…
1) Make tiles in blender and texture them as stone brick, then piece them together as a ground inside Unreal Engine?
2) Use the landscape tool inside Unreal Engine 4 and paint stone brick onto the ground?

Which one is most efficient in terms of performance, and also which one would produce higher quality results? Is there a different way I should be doing this all together? I apologize if this is a dumb question as I am new to all of this but I'm liking what I've seen in Game Development so far ?

PS: Also if this is the wrong place to ask then I am sorry, this place was recommended to me and so I am new here too! Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

DustyWarlock said:
if this is the wrong place to ask then I am sorry, this place was recommended to me and so I am new here too!

Right website, but wrong forum. Your question is not about Game Design, so it's been moved to the correct forum.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

@Tom Sloper Thank you ?

Just depends on what your end goal is. Tiled materials are really simple to do, but might not be able to achieve really sophisticated results. Landscape tool is nice as well, with good blended materials you can achieve very nice looking areas. For more complex stuff though, especially if you want to paint your own meshes, look into Vertex Painting.

All are good options, each with varied results.