Copyright infringement issues

Started by
3 comments, last by Dawoodoz 3 years, 11 months ago

I am currently working on a co-op game inspired from overcooked. My game has some similar elements such as tables, sinks etc. though my ‘recipes’ are completely different. My understanding is that as long as the artwork and levels of my game do not look absolutely similar to overcooked, i should be in the clear.

Here is a screenshot from my game. Is my artwork ‘different’ enough or do I need to rethink my design?

Advertisement

I am not a lawyer, and I have not seen the game you are trying not to copy too much. If you have to ask if your game is different enough, it probably isn't. But what it really comes down to is your comfort level with risk. What risk are you taking? And how much of a risk is that? You are the only one who can determine how much risk you are willing to take. Most likely, if the owner of the game you're trying not to copy thinks you failed to not copy it, they'll send you a Cease & Desist letter. That's what's most likely to happen - but they might also sue you for money, if they think you've cost them revenue. So: how comfortable are you with the risk of those things happening?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

If you copy all their mechanics and leave the artwork the same, that still sounds like copying.

But can't you come up with different mechanics? There are thousands of things that go on in a kitchen, and the games are just a simplified model of that. Special requirements like vegetarian, vegen, nut free, etc. Different methods of cooking. Different skills/attributes for the cooks. Different types of meal maybe, cooked to order, buffet, or maybe a combination of both.