Crowdsourcing/"pitching" your game idea to a potential publisher, tips/advice?

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 3 years, 9 months ago

Hello all, I am currently writing a proof of concept for an idea that is described as a “horror souls-like mixed with over the top action similar to games made by Platinum”. Some additional details for this idea is that I am also having similar transformative weapons as seen in the game Bloodborne and the ability to execute skill based combos with all of the tools and weapons available to the player. I am a beginner when it comes to marketing or “pitching” an idea to an audience and would like to know if anyone has any advice on how I could pitch an idea like this to a potential publisher or backer. I know crowdsourcing exists but it is something that can be hard to gain peoples trust on as there have been significant controversial campaigns like the Mighty no. 9 campaign among others even star citizen that have tainted peoples trust in crowdsourcing campaigns. I thought of having gameplay demos available as teasers for download would help gain some traction but I really don't know how I would advertise these things as some random beginner dev with no following. Any help would be appreciated!

None

Advertisement

GrimmOne77 said:
I am currently writing a proof of concept for an idea….

You don't write a proof of concept. A proof of concept has to be programmed, not written. The thing you write is a concept paper. You should also write a treatment and a PowerPoint pitch. The difference between a concept paper or 2-pager and treatment are discussed at the bottom of FAQ 13.

GrimmOne77 said:
…for an idea that is described as….

We don't need to know anything about the concept to help you with this question.

GrimmOne77 said:
would like to know if anyone has any advice on how I could pitch an idea like this to a potential publisher or backer