I have simple and basic questions about game loop.

Started by
4 comments, last by skatehumor 3 years, 2 months ago

Hello.
I'm a beginner in game programming. (Now I'm not using an engine)

I have a couple of questions..

1. In game programming, what use base thing for updating an animation? (tick? elapsed time?)
    i.e. if(…) { UpdateAnimation(); } // using time or tick or other thing?
  2. What is the name of a function that update frame usual? In my case, I use a name like UpdateGameFrame or OnFrameMove. but I want to know a common name.

Thank you.

Advertisement

I don't think there are really any hard set conventions for either of your questions, but I'll try to answer with generalizations that usually work well and are commonly used in game engines:

1. For running animations you usually update the bone transforms (or whatever kind of animation transforms you're using) per frame, to get smooth motion, so you want to “tick” your engine per iteration of your game loop. Whether or not your animation code is running on a separate thread, you usually want to interpolate the positions between frames using some sort of delta time (time difference between last and current frame) in order to get animations that play at consistent speeds across different CPUs (due to different clock speeds for different CPUs, depending). So in a way, you want a mixture of the two things you mentioned.
  2. Like I said, there's really no conventions for this. You could call it whatever you want. That's the beauty of programming. In general such methods are named after some flavor of Update or Tick or Loop, or something descriptive like that, but you know, your code your choice.

EDIT: Some pseudo code for your first question might look like

while(gameIsRunning)
    float currentFrameTime = getCurrentFrameTime();
    float deltaTime = currentFrameTime - lastFrameTime;
    lastFrameTime = currentFrameTime;
    UpdateAnimation(deltaTime)

@skatehumor Thank you for the answer!