does an advanced c++ programmer know all of C++ features

Started by
73 comments, last by hplus0603 2 years, 9 months ago

hi. as i like to advance in c++ as a game developer I figure out that its a language the more you swim, the more you drown.

there are many features that are included in std and game many new features like rvalue references, move semantics or forward and…

is it very important for a cpp developer to learn all of them?

Advertisement

moeen k said:
is it very important for a cpp developer to learn all of them?

Its definately benefical. I wouldn't want to work in C++ pre 11, and lots of features from 14 upwards are also highly applicable in terms of allowing me to write code faster, cleaner and safer IMHO. There's always the occasional thing you don't really need most of the time. But you should at least try to keep up with the major features for your own benefit.

C++ can take a lifetime to master. The more you know, the more you realize you don't know. However, with dedication you can reach an advanced level.

It is also a moving target, as new features come out for C++ every few years, but it is important to learn some of the new stuff as it can really help with more complex projects.

Yes, no, and everything between.
People exist who enjoy digesting all the features of C++ and keeping up with its changes in each new version, and it is reasonable that there are many people who know all the features.
But code reuse is an important economic strategy in video-game development, and you have a major incentive to write code that is as compatible with as many compilers and game engines as possible, making it reasonable that you stay behind the latest C++ advancements by several years.