🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What game engine should I use?

Started by
7 comments, last by 1024 2 years, 3 months ago

Hey!

I'm rather new to game development and many of its aspects.

I know it is usually recommended to start off with a few simple projects while utilizing easy-to-use game engines. However, I do already know a few programming languages and have already accumulated some knowledge regarding game development.

So why am I here? Well I would like to start developing a game of my own but I am unsure as to which of the MANY game engines I should choose.

I am going for an indie-style roguelike tower defense. That means 2D (simplistic) graphics, isometric or top down view and different item synergies throughout different runs as you may often see in roguelikes.

Now I know that there are many game engines which may accommodate my needs. However, I have also heard that many of the simpler game engines may present limitations in later development stages. And so, I would like to avoid or minimize those limitations as much as possible before hand, hence this post.

Any help will be much appreciated!

Advertisement

What types of limitations do you expect? Sounds like the game would be simple enough that most limitations would not apply.

I would recommend Godot. I have used all of “the big 3” for protyping and Godot is the one that is the most modular in terms of code because of its node system.

The standard approach is to try them. Think about what you are attempting to do. Attempt to do some of it.