Experiance

Started by
8 comments, last by GeneralJist 1 year, 1 month ago

There's a job I'm considering applying for and one of the things listed is Experience shipping one or more games, I realize this isn't something I can fake or really get until I've worked in a position that is involved in shipping a game (I have not), what are some things that I could do or list on my resume that at least show that I have some knowledge of this? I've been online and read a few articles about this but I'm sure that's not enough to at least show some effort in that area. Any advice?

Advertisement

I'm sorry this is in the complete wrong forum, if someone could move this to the career development forum or explain to me how I can.

Moved. It's frequently asked so search the forums for variations on your theme.

mruckman said:
what are some things that I could do or list on my resume that at least show that I have some knowledge of this?

Show what you have done, just don't call it work experience. Call out hobby projects related to your desired work, call out education projects that are related, call out open source contributions, whatever you've got. There are many ways to make your history scream “I can build games” without an existing game credit.

As a common example, if you had a coursework assignment you feel was related to games somehow and was more than just learning basics of data structures and algorithms, you might call it out: “For my senior year networking class and graphics class I combined the work, wrote a networked pong game using VBE for graphics and SPX for networking” or whatever fits your background.

mruckman said:
one of the things listed is Experience shipping one or more games