Game engine for high performance games?

Started by
3 comments, last by Sprue 11 months ago

I would like to ask, is there any game engine that can run good looking games at very old hardware? I mean PS2-3 era of hardware. The graphics capabilities don't have to be all modern, i just want to run half decent looking games on older hardware.

Also, i am not really a beginner as the channel may suggest. I just can't really fit this post into any other forum.

Advertisement

The question is hard to answer. It almost doesn't make sense, but in the spirit of the question, sure, you can absolutely do it.

Nothing about it will be easy. “Can I do it” is yes, but “should I do it” is a firm no unless you're really set on making niche products that only play on vintage equipment that very few people can help you with, and even fewer people will be willing.

First the timeline, you can pull old systems from anywhere in that 14 year timeframe. PS2 was about 2000 through 2006. PS3 was about 2006-2014.

Second, the tech wasn't widely available as third party engines at the beginning of that timeline. While they existed, engines as middleware didn't really become popular to the general population around 2006 or so. Before that, game engines were the domain and property of the largest companies.

Unreal Engine existed that entire time licensed to studios that entire time. Unreal Engine 3 was first publicly released in 2009, which is in that time window. Earlier than 2009 and you'll need to get other unofficial sources, but it is within your timeline.

Unity has been publicly available since about 2005, but it wasn't up to that quality able to handle the performance of games you are talking about until around 2008 or so. Even so, you can find it within your timeline.