Gameplay programming design question.

Started by
10 comments, last by John_Stones 7 months, 3 weeks ago

I'm a beginner to game development and am having frequent trouble with designing my classes and structuring my code. I feel I don't know when to separate logic from a class into a new class.

For example, I'm making a game with a grid. I made a grid class that has properties like number of rows, cols, etc. There is a function to be able to visualize the grid, where it generates the cells, edges, and corners. There is also a handful of functions for manipulating grid data for each [row][col] location.

My questions are: Should the visualization code be a part of the grid class? Should the manipulation of data be a part of the grid class? I just don't know when the right time is to separate things or when I am creating too many layers. Are visualization and data unique enough to warrant separating them from the main class?

Advertisement

That is a very common challenge. It makes sense to let a class that knows details about the Grid class draw the Grid. Whether the Grid class itself should do it, and know some graphics interface, or some other dedicated drawing class (friend of Grid) should, is a design choice.

If the project is small enough, I'd also say that one can benefit from letting some general rendering class draw the grid, but with the likelihood of bloat or an eventual refactor.

Don't feel bad about this sort of challenge - with enough experience you'll make better design choices early. Eventually. Perhaps. Sometimes. Nobody is perfect.

@jakemry I vote for separate class. I've done that recently with a grid I used for generating a maze, pathfinding, and spacial partitioning. My visualization class (a friend of the grid) is really just for debugging.